May 8th starts Pokerstars SCOOP 2017

The Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) will kick off Sunday, May 8 and run through Sunday, May 22, the company announced in a press release — and it will be the biggest in the history of SCOOP with 55 different events, divided as usual into three buy-in levels.

This year’s SCOOP Main Event, which begins May 22, will feature buy-ins of $100 (low), $1,000 (medium), and $10,000 (high). Those tournaments will carry guarantees of $1 million, $2 million, and $4 million, respectively. In total, PokerStars is guaranteeing $55 million in prize pools throughout the course of the series. Last year, “apostolis20” (low), Tom “tollgate” Grigg (medium), and Mustapha “lasagnaaammm” Kanit (high) were the winners of the prestigious events.

A total of 140 of the 165 tournaments will last multiple days. New additions to the series for 2016 include a progressive super-knockout (buy-ins of $7.50, $82, and $700), an eight-max high roller (buy-ins of $215, $2,100, $21,000), a three-max turbo progressive knockout Zoom (buy-ins of $27, $215, and $2,100), and a mixed-max (buy-ins of $27, $215, and $2,100).

In addition, players will have the opportunity to fight for a share of more than $100,000 in World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP) tickets and cash by accumulating points across the low, medium, and high buy-in levels. The players who accrue the most points at each level will earn WCOOP Main Event tickets and $5,000 apiece along with trophies, while the overall points leader gets $20,000 and a trophy. Last year, PokerStars Team Pro Jason Mercier laid claim to Player of the Series honors after shipping three SCOOP events.

The SCOOP debuted in 2009 with a 22-event series and has continued to grow in the years since. Past Main Event winners include notable names like Ari “BodogAri” Engel (low 2014), JC Alvarado (medium 2009), Ryan “toetagu” Fair (high 2010), Sami “Lrzlzk” Kelopuro (high 2011), Viktor “Isildur1” Blom (high 2013), and the aforementioned Kanit. Calvin “cal42688” Anderson is the record-holder for most SCOOP wins with six titles, one more than Shaun Deeb.

This year’s Spring Championship of Online Poker boasts the largest PokerStars series guarantee ever, coming in at $55 million.

This SCOOP guarantees $15 million more than SCOOP 2016. This year’s tournament also features 57 events and runs an extra week this year, from April 30 to May 23.

Team PokerStars Pros Jake Cody and Felipe Ramos discussed the schedule in this exclusive video.

The tournament has accessible buy-ins at $5.50, $55 and $530. New this year are the ‘phase’ tournaments of Event #1 and three high roller events. Back again this year is the Win the Button format, which will be featured in three events.

One event will use the progressive 100 percent Knockout format.

Here’s the SCOOP Schedule


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply